Installing 150 watt PIR lights to an outdoor socket.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone,

This is my first time on a forum like this and hope you can help with my query.
I have recently bought two 150 watt pir security lights. I would like to wire these up to two three pin plugs with a 3 amp fuse. I am thinking of using three core 1.5 mm armoured cable. I have bought a outdoor double socket that has a 13 amp fuse in it and will connect this to my indoor plug socket by drilling a hole through the kitchen wall. The outdoor plug socket that connects indoor has an RCD plug attached to it. I am looking to only have this switched on at night times as a security deterrent.
Would this be ok and safe to do and am I breaching any regulations.
Advice would be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
You are not going to be able to connect a 13A plug to SWA cable and I doubt the light fitting would also accept a SWA.
There would be no breach in regulation by connecting a light to a plug via a flex.
The flex must be one that is suitable for the environment, also the flex should be clipped to wall to prevent stress to cable and termination. Also where plugged in, you must allow at least 150mm from finished floor level to socket centre, to prevent damage to plug and flex, plus avoid any slack on flex that could cause a trip hazard.

It is not the best set up, personally I would have the connection within the property via a fused double pole isolator.
This would offer ease of control within the property and prevent mischievous disconnection from outside.

The outdoor socket is the same as the picture I am enclosing. This is wired up to a RCD plug that will be plugged into the kitchen.

Sponsored Links
So the socket will be fused via the RCD adaptor socket.

Still not something I would use, as previous post I would try to bring the connections inside of property, rather than plugged outside.