Is it possible to wallpaper over cork veneer wallpaper

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a British painter and decorator living and working in Germany.

I have been asked to quote for repapering the hall stairs and landings of an old house with 3 floors that is currently covered in cork veneer wallpaper and has been for at least 20 or 30 years. The plaster underneath is crumbly and the wallpaper is still very well adhered everywhere except one small spot. The customer wants to repapering directly over the top with glass fibre paper.

My question is this: will the new wallpaper adhere well over the old cork wallpaper without stripping? I assume that I will have to size in the appropriate paste before I start. Customer is meanwhile going to do a test patch.

Any advice gratefully received!

Sponsored Links
I am a British painter and decorator living and working in Germany.

I have been asked to quote for repapering the hall stairs and landings of an old house with 3 floors that is currently covered in cork veneer wallpaper and has been for at least 20 or 30 years. The plaster underneath is crumbly and the wallpaper is still very well adhered everywhere except one small spot. The customer wants to repapering directly over the top with glass fibre paper.

My question is this: will the new wallpaper adhere well over the old cork wallpaper without stripping? I assume that I will have to size in the appropriate paste before I start. Customer is meanwhile going to do a test patch.

Any advice gratefully received!

Every fibre of my being cries, No! Don't agree to it. If the plaster is not solid and secure, the added weight of the new paper may be the last straw. Plus, the effect of the new glue on the old cork stuff is unpredictable. I've known it bring the old stuff off the wall even when it seemed well adhered beforehand.