Is my CH thermostat purely for decoration?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
:confused: Hi - newbie here, and a very grumpy old lady atm. Being a middle-aged woman living in social housing, I am treated by a lot of tradespeople as if I have lost the few brain cells I ever had, but I'm beginning to think I'm losing touch with reality.

I got my Housing Association to come and look at my CH thermostat. Years ago an engineer just fiddled with it, and now - if it clicks on at 10C the radiators are blazing away like it's polar out there! The rads do have individual controls, but these are not temp sensitive, and I really don't think I should have to spend my "declining" years ;) rushing round the house continually turning them up or down.

However - the guy who came today told me that the temp on the thermostat basically bears no relationship to the ambient temperature - he didn't use the term ambient, but that's what he meant. He basically said that you just set it to a comfortable temperature. Err... so what if, unknown to me, I was suffering from some rare disease that meant I felt freezing at 20C - in that case "comfortable" would be around 30C and i would go bankrupt paying the gas bill.

He told me to get a thermometer - I've tried, they seem rarer than hens' teeth - but - can someone who knows what they're talking about explain - why have a thermostat if it's lying to me? And if it isn't temperature sensitive, why does the heating come on (if the timer is set to on) when I turn it up and off when I turn it down? Am I mad, or what?

Thanks for any advice that might make me a less grumpy old lady - alas, nothing will make me a young one! :LOL:

Tereza

Sponsored Links
It would be good if you had a thermometer then you could measure the temperature directly at the thermostat. If that was possible you could turn the thermostat till it clicks which should be near enough the measured temperature. That would prove its calibration.