Is this legal for me to do?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just been asked by someone to go and replace an electric shower.

I am a plumber by trade, so going into someones house, isolating and disconnecting their electric shower and fitting a new one with the same cable that was originally there, is that ok?

Just have no clue on the laws with this, and if I can, I can give a cheaper price to the customer, thanks

John.

Sponsored Links
Legally, swapping like for like is legal.

But you need to check that the supply cable is correctly rated for the new shower. You also need to be sure your insurance covers you for this work.

I have no insurance as I work for a company and just do foreigners on the side, but I do understand that the shower must be fed by 10mm

Replacing the shower is permitted and does not require notification to building controls.
But if you need to install any new cabling, then it becomes notifiable.
Unless the cable you are replacing is damaged ;)
In some cases the shower cable maybe undersized for the new showers output requirements, if so the new cable will then make the work notifiable.

Sponsored Links
I have no insurance as I work for a company and just do foreigners on the side, but I do understand that the shower must be fed by 10mm

It depends on the rating of the shower, and the size of the fuse/MCB in the consumer unit.

One large point. Is there an RCD providing safety protection for the shower?
The maker's instructions will dictate that one must be fitted, even if there is not one already in place for the old shower.

Doing that, and testing it, may well be outside your skill set.

So why do you not get insured for the foreigners then?
and 10mm cable is not always required!
You need to take output of shower, design current, and fuse rating in to consideration, then any derating factors of cables installation method.

So I guess if the shower is fitted with 10mm, and there is a separate RCD for the shower, it's good to go?