Is this likely to be subsidence

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Looking at buying this bunglaow, it was built in the 1950s and had a flat roof extension built in the 80s, you can see where they attach where theres a vertical crack. I'm not sure whether I should progress with an offer as I think it shows clear signs of subsidence, however, I have no experience to really make an informed decision. I hope I'm wrong and it's just poor render/weather damage or even where it's settled and then they've applied the wrong filler, it's a probate property so I can't ask. In your opinion does this look to be likely? Here's a video of the extent of the problem: https://photos.app.goo.gl/LUXb5LocLTtEbsDR9
20230706_193421.jpg
20230706_193433.jpg
20230706_193436.jpg
20230706_193628.jpg

Sponsored Links
If it's a crack where the extension joins the house it's probably just settlement, got some pictures from further away?

I didn't take any other photos, unfortunately the sun was right behind me so I couldn't see what the photos looked like at the time, I will be going back today to have a look so I can update the post. Heres a photo from the listing:

1688732703893.png

As above, probably due to settlement between the two.

Sponsored Links
I wouldn't worry about it. Photo 2 shows it's on the joint of original and extension.

Chip the render off a foot or two either side, put a movement joint bead across the joint then re-render either side of it. Then the joint will move instead of cracking the render.

I wouldn't worry about it. Photo 2 shows it's on the joint of original and extension.

Chip the render off a foot or two either side, put a movement joint bead across the joint then re-render either side of it. Then the joint will move instead of cracking the render.
Would that type of movement cause horizontal cracks on the main building like in the first photo?

You very much can ask, it'll be an odd set of relatives that never visited the (now deceased) owner.