Is this safe?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm replacing a ceiling light in an old garage and this is the block I've extracted from behind the plasterboard. It did have insulation tape around it.

I'm now trying to work out where I attach the two wires I have for my new LED strip light. There are two strip lights and a single switch in the loop. Both lights come on when the switch is flicked.

I'm not good with electrics, as far as I'm concerned it's magic and all a but mysterious.

I know I must avoid reversing the poles or creating a live unit and I looked at the wiring diagrams but I'm concerned that this is unsafe and still trying to work out where to stick my lamp wires.

Any thoughts, would be very welcome.

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20210116_114303825.jpg
    IMG_20210116_114303825.jpg
    175.3 KB · Views: 200
Sponsored Links
Those connections need to be made within a junction box ,and done properly.

Yes. I was not happy with it. I'm thinking a ceiling rose junction box or J501 it will be attached to the exposed wooden beam and does not have to be concealed. Thanks.

Last edited:
To connect your new live and neutral for your new light.

You the see the two black wires on the LEFT of the photograph.
The TOP LEFT black appears to be NEUTRAL
The BOTTOM LEFT black appears to be the SWITCHED LIVE (should be sleeved red).

You can see the earths at the very top.

My only concern is one that one of those blacks has NOT been sleeved in red, and given the messy state of the wiring, it is possible those blacks COULD be reversed. It would still work, if that WAS the case, but the polarity would be wrong.

You just need to check if that bottom left black actually does go the light switch. It should do.

EDIT - red sleeving comment typo corrected.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links