Just what do you do all day?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A couple of recent incidents caused us to ask this albeit tongue in cheek question of ourselves the other day.
I'm a carpenter , or joiner depending where you're from , and like most have young lads working with me. They are doing their NVQ's and need work based evidence. A couple of weeks ago I was putting in a flight of stairs and one of the young lads was pleased because he was saying that he needed three examples of every type of work for his evidence. I should say our work is predominatly restoration and the lads do struggle with their work based evidence.
Now Paul with whom I was working is also a qualified carpenter and in his fifties and he looked at me and said " I don't think I've put three sets of stairs in in ten years or more".
I was a little better placed having done one a year for the past three years but before that I'd have to go back quite a time.
On another job and again with Paul I went to help him finish a kitchen and again we struggled to think when we had last put a kitchen in.
I was the closest at seven years although that was my own but for a client we both had to go back over ten years.
Neither of us has lost much time at work and have been continually employed but we did have a giggle when the question was asked
"Just what do we do all day long then?" :eek:

Sponsored Links
Many days, nothing from the list I had made that needed doing urgently! I just have to fight the fires the coal-facers keep setting!

Given that I get at least half - a - dozen calls every week from call centres all saying that if I get them to sell/design website/adverts in non existent waiting room magasines - you all know the sort of course, then the fact that they only call my mobile number must suggest that they consider I do nuffink all day except have time to listen to their carp....