Kent Council Clamping HGVs: No Warning Signs: Fair?

Sponsored Links
First one parked on pavement, fair...

The others not so...

of course you could always call for...

Always thought clamping a stupid idea.

A vehicle is parked where it should not.

Let's prevent it moving and make sure it stays there longer than it otherwise would.

Sponsored Links
I think the issue of signage is a big one here.

Strategically placed signs?

How are you expected to spot those when they may be miles away from the area you park in?

Man City Council have a sign on a road approaching Oxford Road saying no left turn for cars, but there is only one and the chances of clocking it are not all that great. But of course they are raking in thousands of pounds in fines every year.

As an ex resident of Kent I have some knowledge of the restriction. It was well publicised when it was introduced, there are signs in lay-bys and on affected roads etc. The problem is that truckers using the ferries and tunnel use any available space to park. Residential streets, industrial estates, lay-bys such that it can be difficult even get around.

They generally ignore double yellow lines in quieter areas where they wont get nabbed, double park, obstruct lines of site near entrances etc and mostly because they dont want to pay at a truck stop. They also leave rubbish, excrement and bottles of yellow liquid dotted around.

I know they have to have somewhere to park but fairs fair.

"The new powers will come into effect on January 1, just at the time when Brexit congestion is expected to see HGVs queue up on roads across the region."

No sh*t sherlock!