Kitchen Renovation - Total novices!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

My husband and I are currently sulking in the living room as the plans we had for the kitchen don't seem to be going to plan now we've started putting the units together! I would be so grateful for your help and advice, I already think we have made some MAJOR rookie errors, oh dear.

Our new kitchen plan is here:
175358979212288727_p0Vn8i7G_c.jpg
and I am talking about the two cupboards on the far left.

Our current kitchen and our planned kitchen are both L shapes. The new kitchen is to be relocated pretty much the same as our old kitchen, apart from the cupboard we have assembled which unexpectedly, does not seem to fit in the space provided.

In a fit of enthusiasm, my husband and I decided to install the wall cupboards last weekend and now, we are having trouble fitting an almost floor to ceiling unit in the space to the left of one wall cupboard. (Tall cupboard furthest to the left) You can see the boiler and expansion tank (which we have already knocked) here:
2012-11-24+21.22.12.jpg

Here is a picture of the wall cupboard we have installed, the cupboard that doesn't fit, sits to the left of this.
IMG_20121125_201128.jpg

The wall cupboard sits as the last cupboard on the wall. This is due to the fact there is a boiler expansion tank on the wall which sticks out about 2cm too far. It hadn't even occurred to me that this even needed to be thought about. If we hadn't already installed the other wall cupboard then we wouldn't have the problem. :( But, now we have, my husband has informed me that moving the wall cupboard over to the right means that we are getting too close to an electrical wire so that doesn't seem to be an option either.