Knauf Wallboard - suitable?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello there,

I'm in the process of re-doing a shower in my en suite after a rather nasty leak. I'm replacing some stud work and plasterboard.
I originally wanted to go with Knauf Aquapanel and then tank with Bal tanking kit, but Travis Perkins didn't have any Aquapanel in when i went, and in my haste I purchased standard Knauf Wallboard.

Please tell me it'll be ok to use the standard board with my Bal tanking kit.

Also, if it is OK, could you recommend a tile adhesive and grout for use in showers on top of Bal WP1.

thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
thanks Richard

yeah, i really wanted to go with aquapanel but they didn't have it. they had hardibacker but the sizes they stocked were not suitable for what i needed so i was forced to go with the standard board.

i have a bal tanking kit already. I've never used a tanking kit before but i expect its pretty self explanatory.

one more thing...
can someone tell me what the common practice is when it comes to upstands on shower trays? I'm thinking of tanking the whole cubical walls and floor then placing the tray in (will be a tight fit) and painting more WP1 over the top edge of the upstand.

is this correct? I don't want to have to sink the upstand into the wall.
is it normal for tilers to have to mess about with the bottom row of tiles to make them vertical over the upstand?

i hope i've explained that correctly.

Sponsored Links
The upstand needs to be sunk into the wall - it's not difficult to do.

'needs' to be? shower tray i removed was a 770mm square tray with 4 upstands. 770mm is the exact gap between the two walls. it will be difficult to sink into walls.

any suggestions?

edit:

after reading some more online it seems you're right, it really needs to be flush fitted.