Laminate floor newbie

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Need to ask a couple of questions before I start the hallway.

- Current laminate has bathroom sealent put into the edge gaps around the hallway, I presume cos the front door is directly in the hallway, so rain etc. I will likely do the same, but how can I easily get the old sealent up? Is there any product that will make this easier?

- When fitting lock type laminate flooring, which direction should the grain face? Or does it not matter?

- Lastly, where would be the best place in the hallway to start fitting? The hallway is a very long rectangle shape, but it has the stairs in it as well.

Sponsored Links
I've see a liquid sealant remover but never tried it. I've always just used a stanley knife and wallpaper scaper.

I'm a laminate floor newbie but about to put my first floor down this weekend. I also have the same question regarding grain, the instructions say lay the boards length ways towards the rooms main light source.

This will cause me to have alot more cuts (and small 3 inch boards at the end of each run). Does it matter which way the boards are laid?

If you start with 1/2 a board, you wont have small pieces at the ends. There is no more waste doing it like that.
The grain can go any way, but when you say grain direction do you mean board direction across width or down length.

If you start with 1/2 a board, you wont have small pieces at the ends. There is no more waste doing it like that.
The grain can go any way, but when you say grain direction do you mean board direction across width or down length.

Yes I could cut the first board and last board but that still twice as many cuts than if I lay them the other way. I meant board direction which is also the same as the grain direction.

I was surprised to see they recommended laying them in a certain direction, understandable in long narrow hallway but why in a square room? Does it affect the appearance once laid?

Sponsored Links