Landing & door regs for the first floor door (double story extension)

Have you got the room to pull the staircase forward to create a flat landing?

In my opinion it would make your extension feel more part of the house rather than an add on.

I'm no expert on building regs but if you have young children then having the layout like that all looks a bit dangerous to me.
9F6C7678-D978-43F5-A8CA-4D1BA1D77495.jpeg

(Sorry not the greatest picture so hopefully they are not confusing)
Please have a look the image mate - there is plenty of space in the existing landing area for the attic staircase to land. Pretty sure I would not need that in the new extension (left hand side).

Sponsored Links
What's behind the wall at the end of the stairs?

Have you got the full layout of upstairs to hand?

Downstairs plan would help as well

Two suggestions if i may, to improve safety:

1. hinge the door on the right (when viewed from inside the room).
2. consider a vertical grab handle on the left (viewed from the existing stairs).

Tony, would this work pls? (Was not sure what you meant by right side)
AAA344D4-1BEC-42DB-9DD5-DA9DCB6A1F3E.jpeg

Full first floor layout (original) below:
181BEDEA-019F-426D-974F-53EBFA74557C.jpeg

Sponsored Links
What do you guys think?
I have said what I think - it doesn't work. :cautious: What does the Building Control Officer think about compliance with building regulations for this configuration of stairs ,plus creating a hazard near the top of a flight of stairs :?::!:

I have said what I think - it doesn't work. :cautious: What does the Building Control Officer think about compliance with building regulations for this configuration of stairs ,plus creating a hazard near the top of a flight of stairs :?::!:
How would you get round it?

Ahem, it does work and there's thousands of these around, probably more. I'll have a count.

Ahem, it does work and there's thousands of these around, probably more. I'll have a count.