Leaking hot tap - isolation valve?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Bit of a DIY newbie here. I've got a leaking hot tap in my downstairs toilet. My partners dad was able to take a look yesterday and said that the rubber washer had gone and to get a sealant kit to fix it, I'm going to try and give this a go over the next few days when I have chance. In the meantime I was wondering if there was any way to temporarily stop the leak. Looking online I can see mention of isolation valves, I don't think that we have these on our pipes but I am not 100% sure. Would really appreciate it if anyone has any advice at all. I've attached some pictures of the pipe work underneath the sink.

Both pipes coming in from the left come together up along the wall through the ceiling. The pipe at the top goes to the hot tap and the pipe at the bottom goes to a T shaped pipe where it splits and goes to the cold tap and down along the wall into the toilet cistern.

Thanks,
Ell

Attachments

• 20161017_183831.jpg
    20161017_183831.jpg
    67.5 KB · Views: 385
  • 20161017_183809_001.jpg
    20161017_183809_001.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 325
Sponsored Links
No sign of any isolator a I'm afraid, but they sure would be useful!
A plumber would probably freeze the pipe before cutting and installing, otherwise the hot water would need to be drained down - which isn't as drastic as it sounds.
Do you have a combi boiler by any chance?
Any paint needs to be removed before any isolator is fitted.
John :)

Thanks for the reply John - Yeah we've got a combi boiler. So I suppose as there is no isolation valve nothing can really be done temporarily to stop the leak apart from turning the main water supply off! Guess I'll have to put up with it for a day or to before having a go at trying to replace this washer!

Where is it leaking from?? if it's just from the top then don't worry and let it just run into the sink until repaired, or is it just dripping?

To isolate the taps then: