level 2 city and guilds

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I work as a gas engineer and we do various bits of electrical work related to boilers and pumps and controls
is there anywhere explicitly written work I can or cant undertake

Sponsored Links
No, but Part P of The Building Regulations states:

upload_2019-10-31_18-49-32.png

You cannot do that without the necessary knowledge or testing equipment.

However, some work (very little in England, more in Wales, we never count Scotland) is notifiable to the Building Control before it is begun and they might not deem you competent.

sorry ive explained this really badly I have no desire to work on power or lighting I am caught in a situation were the company I work for are concerned that we shouldn,t harm ourselves which I am all for however this extends to banning multimeters we have martindale testers and proving units and ohm meters but really we need multimeters eg for frequency testing if we have issues with the supply voltage and quantifing the voltage used by fans gas valves etc the question is are we deemed competent

There are 'decent' multimeters. I have several - as well as the usual multi-function tester.

You might be deemed competent if you are competent.
If you meant by the Building Control, then the work you mentioned will not be anything to do with them, so it is up to your employer.

I presume you meant 'frequency of testing'; not 'frequency testing'.

Sponsored Links