1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

LG Smart TV constant retunes

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Harry Bloomfield, 27 Nov 2019.

  1. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    1,962
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bought the big screen last Christmas and it seems every few days it shows a warning on screen that the 'program map has changed, do I want to retune'. Two other older, none smart sets, able to receive fewer channels do not suffer this, what's going on? Is this normal? I know I can disable it, but...

    I'm on the Emley Moor transmitter and I know there was a genuine change earlier in the week.
     
  2. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,324
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your TV is picking up another transmitter. It probably has a more sensitive tuner. The signals from the other transmitter are weaker, and possibly fading in and out, hence why the TV is detecting "new" stations.

    To stop the issue I would switch off the tell-me-when-there's-a-new-channel feature. Check your manual (paper/download/eHelp) to see what it's called on your TV, then switch it off.

    Incidentally, I'm on Winter Hill and despite being half-way between Manchester and Chester my TV can still pick up Emley Moor when I do a fresh scan.

    If this or any other reply was helpful to you, then please do the decent thing and click the T-H-A-N-K-S button. It appears when you hover the mouse pointer near the Quote Multi-quote buttons. This is the proper way to show your thanks for the time and help someone gave you.
     
    Last edited: 28 Nov 2019
  3. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    1,962
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That makes a lot of sense - I pick up Emley Moor off the front of the antenna and a somewhat weaker Tyne Tees one off the back. When I have done the retune, it always asks me where I am, to decide which channel set to store.

    I had a software problem develop soon after I bought the set, as did lots of LG owners, where the channel list would not bring up programs which though available via the likes of Iplayer, you couldn't see them to step back in time. A sort of work around that sometimes worked, was a variable attenuator in the antenna lead. LG eventually fixed the problem, after I pestered LG's MD about the issue, so I just wacked the attenuator back up to full gain and left it.

    Time to tweak it back down I think.

    Thanks!
     
  4. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    1,962
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to say thanks Lucid - you were spot on, there have been no more spurious need to retune messages since adding the attenuator..
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,324
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
Loading...

Share This Page