Lifestyle 2 port motorised valve sticking

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

First time posting and a complete novice on anything to do with central heating.

I have a lifestyle 2 port motorised valve that keeps sticking (meaning my central heating pump keeps running all the time), if I tap it, it usually goes off, it has been happening on and off for a year or more. I have squirted wd40 in a couple of times and that works for a while.

What is my best solution please, I have done a search of the forum and see that I could just change the head/motor (assuming I can get one)

I could change the whole unit but no idea how to go about it, I assume that means a complete drain down?

Can I even buy the same valve still, it is about 14 years old

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Depending on the model there may be a black button to press at the base of the head which will enable the head to be removed.

If so then see if the shaft is stiff. You should be able to turn it with your fingers.

You can lubricate the shaft with WD40 or any silicone based oil but NOT with mineral oils.

Tony

Depending on the model there may be a black button to press at the base of the head which will enable the head to be removed.

If so then see if the shaft is stiff. You should be able to turn it with your fingers.

You can lubricate the shaft with WD40 or any silicone based oil but NOT with mineral oils.

Tony

I assume when talking about the head we mean the motor?

If so there isnt a button to press, the motor is held in place with 2 screws, is it worth me removing the motor that way and lubricating the shaft? as said I am a complete novice.

Thanks for reply

You probably have an older version of these valves and the head is not removable.