1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Light switch question

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by rs3100, 17 Nov 2018.

  1. rs3100

    rs3100

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We have a kitchen diner and in the diner there is a 3 gang light switch - 2 switches control 3 lights in the ceiling (I’d prefer it to be one switch but can cope with 2) the other switch controls the ceiling lights in the kitchen. In the kitchen there is also a 3 gang light switch one controls the kitchen ceiling lights, one controls the under cupboard lights, and the other controls 3 lights above the sink.
    All lights work independently apart from the ones above the sink which requires the switch in the dining room for the kitchen lights to be in a certain position, is there any way that these lights can be independent of the dining room switch??

    The first image is the diner the second is the kitchen.
    2F3994A4-010C-4E09-825E-88C9EEE9C586.jpeg
    The switch on the right (as we look at the photo) and the middle control the dining room lights and the one on the left with the blue wire controls the kitchen lights.

    47BA1E6D-3FEF-4F7C-8DDB-249AF43BF344.jpeg
    The switch on the right (as we look at the pic) is independent and controls the under cabinet lights. The middle is the kitchen ceiling, and the left is the lights above the sink.
     
  2. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,181
    Thanks Received:
    3,137
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Move the link wire as shown.

    upload_2018-11-17_12-4-52.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. rs3100

    rs3100

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fab, that worked a treat thank you.
     
  4. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,787
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And you don't have a clue why, do you.
     
  5. rs3100

    rs3100

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, not at all. If I knew why I would have been able to deduce what was wrong without asking.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,787
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doing electrical installation work without really knowing what's going on, hoping to get it working by luck, or, as here, by blindly following instructions to put-this-wire-in-that-hole without any idea as to why is wrong - you should know what, and truly understand what, you are doing.

    Before you attempt any other electrical work please take the time to become competent first.
     
  7. rs3100

    rs3100

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, point taken. Do you want to explain why it worked to me?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,181
    Thanks Received:
    3,137
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Bas thinks you should understand what you are doing.

    I would agree with him if you were installing lighting cicuits, but I did think your post indicated that you did not wire and cause this mistake, so for one error I don't consider it unreasonable to ask and be told.


    So, first lesson -

    As for your other query regarding the two sets of lights on two switches becoming all on one switch -

    Can I have a picture more clearly showing all the terminals and the cables the wires come from?
    Especially the Black and there should be another Blue.
     
  9. rs3100

    rs3100

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can understand that, and I agree. I only asked whether it was possible, not how to do it, and you kindly offered the solution.

    Anywho, for part 2 I have three spots in the ceiling all in a row, middle switch controls one of them and the left switch (right if you’re looking at the back) controls the other one, I don’t know why they didn’t put them on the same switch.
    3B513109-0626-48EF-AC43-60C944B71B04.jpeg 8D3437AA-E070-455B-8C43-58BF04D7405C.jpeg
     
  10. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,181
    Thanks Received:
    3,137
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok, so this is what you have -

    upload_2018-11-17_19-41-21.png

    What do you think needs doing to achieve what you want?
     
  11. rs3100

    rs3100

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My thought would be to either switch L1/L3 of the middle switch to the right switch or L1/L2 from the right switch to the middle.
    But why is one L3 and the other L2?
    What is the purpose of the spare?
     
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,181
    Thanks Received:
    3,137
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    I got the numbers wrong in the middle switch from looking at the first picture.
    The spare is unused. No purpose. Might have come in handy for something.
    I suspect it might have also been one of a two-way switch system.
    You will have another spare in a minute.

    Stick to one.

    L1 -the red wires supply the power.
    You want both wires that go to the lights to come on together.

    So, put the Black wire in with the Yellow.
    Then terminate the Live Red of the middle switch in a connector block so that it doesn't touch anything.
     
  13. rs3100

    rs3100

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Ok, that makes sense, so essentially the red wires (L1) are the cables coming into the box from the power source, we only need one of these so the other can be terminated. We then have two wires coming out of the same L2 which then provide the power to the lights.

    Is the spare blue wire a neutral?
     
  14. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,181
    Thanks Received:
    3,137
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    That's right.

    As for the Blue - very unlikely to be a neutral but could be connected at the other end if you ever want a neutral at the switch.
    It does have a red sleeve signifying it was used for a switch wire.

    As I said, use of the RYB cable could mean that it was once one of a two-way system, as is the left (looking at back) switch.
     
  15. rs3100

    rs3100

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fab, so the red sleeve would indicate live, so for all the connections here they're live just some are power in (L1) and some are power out (L2), and then L3 are all to do with two way switches.
     
Loading...

Share This Page