1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Light switch with L1, L2, N1, N2 only (no common)

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by GlenCo, 10 Mar 2021.

  1. GlenCo

    GlenCo

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi folks

    Seen a number of threads similar to this, and would appreciate some help!

    I have a new light switch, which has L1, L2, N1 & N2, but no common.

    The existing wires (ignoring the earth) are Red (live), a second red which is in a grey outer (presume another live), and a black/blue (presume neutral).

    How should that be wired? I want to use it in a 1-switch room.

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ETAF

    ETAF

    Joined:
    24 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK, Wittering, West Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    photos would help
    Frequently a neutral does not goto the switch , although maybe in this case
     
  4. AdrianUK

    AdrianUK

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    612
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure its a lightswitch?

    Sounds to me like its a 20A DP switch. They can look rather similar
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,591
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can't assume that blue or black conductors are neutrals! It's very common to use the blue/black conductor in a twin and earth cable as a switched live conductor. While such conductors should be marked with tape or sleeving this doesn't always happen in the real world.

    Do you still have the old switch? do you remember how it was connected?
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. GlenCo

    GlenCo

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Argh. Yes, it's a 20A dp

    I take it that's of no use? Back to B&Q!
     
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,456
    Thanks Received:
    4,203
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    How are they connected to the switch?
     
  9. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,591
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not necessarily.

    But we really can't help you if you don't answer our questions.
     
  10. GlenCo

    GlenCo

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi folks

    Thanks for the help, and apologies to multiple helpful ideas that I didn't reply to.

    When I looked, and one poster suggested it wasn't a light switch, I realised that was 100% true! So for speed, and £1.50 I went back to the shop, and bought the 'right' item... A single light switch!

    Thanks a million!
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page