Lighting circuit BS 7176

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I am a newbie on this site as well as a newbie electrician awaiting G&C 2391.

I would just like the forums comment on a situation regarding Lighting CPC on properties built in the sixties where this requirement was largely ignored, and now coming to roost under BS 7671

I live in a flat next door to a neighbour who’s flat is exactly identical to mine.

I had a landlords inspection and at the same time, he being an owner occupier had an inspection on the insistence of a mortgage lender so he could release equity.

My landlords electrician had rewired the lighting circuit in external trunking which is there all to be seen.

Another electrician next door after a conversation with him told me that the owner didn’t want trunking over his ceiling and walls, so this electrician connected his circuit to the RCD portion of the split board on the consumer unit.
The earthing system is T-N-S
My points are How come I have to put up with the expense and the sight of trunking and all he has to have done is a single conductor stretched to the left of the consumer unit?

My understanding so far that next door has been inadequately remedied and mine is correct.

Also according to my understanding is that domestic wiring should no be protected by RCD as direct contact is considered out of reach, blowing GLS cause nuisance tripping, and how did the electrician obtain R1 + R2 reading without an earth.

Sorry long posting for a first

Sponsored Links
Why take the 2391 when you have no understanding already? Have you not taken any other electrical courses or any experience?.

Have you done C&G 2381 (BS 7671:2001 Requirements for Electrical Installations)?

i presume you meant to write BS 7671 not BS 7176

i'm pretty sure that BS 7671 does not allow rcd protection to be used as a substitute for a lack of earthing.

Sponsored Links
pdcelec said: