lights not earthed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a qualified electrician but don't actually work as an electrician. My neighbour can't get an electrician to install him an up to date c.u. because his lights aren't earthed. he won't have the lighting circuits re-wired as it will involve ripping his house to bits. He asked if i would do it. (F.O.C obviously as he's ny neighbour) surely as he understands the dangers he's better off with a new C.U. and rcd protection on his earthed circuits than just leaving things as they are ?

Sponsored Links
surely as he understands the dangers he's better off with a new C.U. and rcd protection on his earthed circuits than just leaving things as they are ?
I agree.

It is a 'best' practice guide with a statement that it is not statutory and that the installation should not be less safe than it was before.

Sponsored Links
My neighbour can't get an electrician to install him an up to date c.u. because his lights aren't earthed.
So no real electricians will do it, but you will?

he won't have the lighting circuits re-wired as it will involve ripping his house to bits.
He may find he has no choice - that wiring is at least 45 years old.

My neighbour can't get an electrician to install him an up to date c.u. because his lights aren't earthed.
So no real electricians will do it, but you will?

well i was considering helping him out as the instalation won't be any worse , if someone can explain the difference between leaving it as it is or improving everything except the lighting circuits ? i would be grateful. as mentioned earlier in the thread i'm qualified but don't work as an electrician so rusty and inexperienced ( not stupid and i don't mind the constructive criticism) , thanks for your input.

he won't have the lighting circuits re-wired as it will involve ripping his house to bits.
He may find he has no choice - that wiring is at least 45 years old.