Lighting circuit - Earth Problem?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I may need your help.

We have purchased a new metal light fitting. What I have done so far is this.

I have removed the cover from the existing plastic pendant. There are 3 wires, live, neutral and earth. I have a neon screwdriver. With the switch off or on the neon lights up when on the earth.

I also have a cheap multimeter. With the switch on between live and neutral I get 230v ish AC. Between live - earth I get 120v ish.

I have looked behind some of our other switches and not all of them are earthed. We have some metal switches that are earthed, some are not. I've not put the meter on those but the earthed switches light up the neon.

The new light fitting is not double insulated.

It's an old place and I have no idea who installed the electrics here. It has been re-wired at some point but before we arrived.

I'm not completely green and could fix it with some direction but I am no electrician.

Do we have a major problem here??

:eek:

Sponsored Links
Sounds as though the earth connection back to the MET is not continuous. This could be a basic problem restricted to the lighting circuit, or it could indicate the lack of an earth connection to the entire installation.

Ideally you should have the entire installation checked over by an electrician, as the latter scenario is immediately dangerous, and a fault with any part of the electrical installation could cause the entire installation to become live. It's not completely unheard of for a DNO fault on a TN-S supply to cause such earth faults.

That said, if you feel confident enough to do so, you could perform the same tests with your multimeter that you have already carried out on the lighting circuit, repeat them on a different circuit, and report back with your results.

All other circuits are fine as far as I know, I have tested those before, the workmanship is poor but electrically okay.