Lights dim when it rains

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I bought my house about a year ago and since we moved in we have a problem when it rains heavily.

The lights flicker and go very dim. Sometimes the whole electricity supply can cut off for about a second causing everything in the house to switch off and back on again.

Does anyone know what may cause this as it only happens when there is heavy rain (quite often here).

Thanks

Rob

Sponsored Links
Overhead supply?

Sounds like a corroding joint up the pole. More commonly will be the neutral, which can be very dangerous as when the lights go off, they ARE STILL LIVE - as could be any metalwork.

Contact your supplier asap.

Im no electrician, so excuse me if I sound thick.

I don't think we have an overhead supply into the house. I'm sure the supply comes under the house into the fusebox in the cellar.

Is this something my supplier would charge to look at the problem?

Thanks

Rob

do your neibours have the same problem!!!!!

they will probably charge you if its a fault your side of the distribution board[your side off the meter]

i am no expert but the fault does sound more likly to be there side with a parcial short or bad connection

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the advice.

Are there any electircians on here from the Halifax area who may want to have a look at see if the fault is at my side of the meter or not?

:D

Cheers

Rob

big-all is on the button when he asks about your neighbours.

It sounds like water is getting into the electricity supply, perhaps a damaged underground or overhead cable. If the neighbours are also suffering then it won't be your house that's the trouble.