Loose stair rail bracket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm a bit of novice so apologies if I use the wrong terminology!

I noticed the other day that the bottom bracket on the stair rail was loose. I unscrewed it and under the bracket a thick 1.5cm wedge of plaster was all broken and split. I removed all the loose plaster and it's taken it down to the breeze blocks on the house (see pic).

IMG_4239.jpg

I obviously want this fixing so what would be the best material to use to fill the holes back in, make it level again and reattach the bracket. I suspect filler would be too weak?

Thanks

Phil

Sponsored Links
Breeze is not very strong for fixing in I would cut some wood plugs or dowels that are a tight fit then tap them in with a splodge of no nails.
Either use a round bit of timber or plasterboard as a spacer then skim with filler and drill through to the plug level and screw into the plugs.
You might be able to cut a circle of something with the cutter you used to clean up the hole.

Breeze is not very strong for fixing in I would cut some wood plugs or dowels that are a tight fit then tap them in with a splodge of no nails.
Either use a round bit of timber or plasterboard as a spacer then skim with filler and drill through to the plug level and screw into the plugs.
You might be able to cut a circle of something with the cutter you used to clean up the hole.

Great thanks, I’ll get some dowels, no more nails and filler tomorrow then. I have managed to cut a spacer with a holesaw from an old piece of plywood I have and it’s fairly level now. Hopefully it will be nice and secure once done

Sponsored Links
Great thanks, I’ll get some dowels, no more nails and filler tomorrow then. I have managed to cut a spacer with a holesaw from an old piece of plywood I have and it’s fairly level now. Hopefully it will be nice and secure once done
If it’s thermalite dowels will pull out .

You need the wall plugs I linked too.