Make 3x2 prettier

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
Sick of spending money on free standing coat racks that the Boss puts every coat in the street on until it snaps I had an idea. I had 2 pieces of 5ft 3x2 lying around and have purchased some coat hooks from ebay and was planning on screwing them both to a brick wall after staining them.
The Boss doesnt like the look of them as She says "it looks like coat hooks nailed onto a piece of wood". Essentially She is correct as that is all it is but is there any way I can make the pieces of wood easier on the eye?
I was thinking of planing the front edges off and then sanding until smooth but if you know of any better ways please let me know.

I apologise in advance as I am not very good at DIY.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
A piece of planed 4x1 or 3x1 would be /look better. Chamfer the front edges, lick of paint/stain, jobs a good 'un.

Steve

3x2??
not being funny but if this isn't a windup it should be :D

bit off 12mm ply and shape it diamond/circle/oval random shape and paint a picture or fix a picture on a painted background and cover with varnish and place the hooks random/in a patern/round the edge

the picture can be a 5 year olds school offering for example

Sponsored Links
Yes, not being rude but it will look like a row of coat hooks. and with the coats on it - will look like a row of coats.............um! what would you like it to look like?

Check out this coat rack, it doesn't look at all like a bit or wood with some hooks in it! :LOL:

IMG_2572.jpg

3x2??
not being funny but if this isn't a windup it should be :D
Sorry, no wind up. I wanted to achieve something similar to FreddyMercurysTwin picture above but that wont be heavy duty enough for my family. Had thought of a piece of 3/4 inch ply but that would mean I could only use half inch screws on the hooks. My Boss would have them ripped off the ply with one lash of her tongue or even one of 'her stares'.