MDF adhesive

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I had some shelves built and would like to put mdf on the front as shown in the video because I am adding little strip lights behind them. Rather than screwing them in, I would like to be able to use a really strong adhesive that’s fast drying as I don’t have clamps. Would this stuff work ok? It’s something I’ve never used before and was wondering if it would work for this? (I have 6 to fit) Thanks in advance. Here is the video and the stuff I’m looking at below it.

https://streamable.com/wgo13t

https://www.screwfix.com/p/no-nonse...Vg7HtCh17LAmsEAQYASABEgKmivD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

Sponsored Links
It produces a very brittle joint which can sometimes shear if struck or subjected to thermal creep, and don't lights, even LED lights, get hot? If (when) you need to repair/replace these lights it will possibly damage the surface as well. What is wrong with using screws? Or for that matter a double sided adhesive tape or even self-adhesive Velcro?

double sided tape/velcro for the front bit of the shelf? I’ll maybe just use screws then i just like the fact of having a finished face on the shelf without screwing bf holes and filling

what i do with multi angles that are not easy to clamp is d4 wood glue with an inch gap an inch from the start and finish and an inch gap every 9-13" [minimum 3 blobs on any joint]with a blob off superglue in the centre off the gaps and activator small spray on opposite board in same position
i have not found any negative interactions between activator superglue or d4 wood glue
this may work well in your case as you have a quick holding "pinning" glue and an industry accepted permanent glue

Sponsored Links
double sided tape/velcro for the front bit of the shelf? I’ll maybe just use screws then i just like the fact of having a finished face on the shelf without screwing bf holes and filling