MIELE T494C

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a newbie to the site and am hoping someone may be able to help, we have a Miele T494C dryer it was purchased second hand about 5 years ago, being pensioners a new one was out of the question so we went for the next best option , it has worked very well over the years until Thursday 26th when my wife started a fresh load and the electricity went off, we reset the switch on the fuseboard many times but it kept going off, since then I have phoned several local engineers who have conflicting reasons and widely different costs to rectify the problem, some of the reasons being relays, thermostats, motors and heaters. Does anyone out there have any idea what it may be. Forever in your debt, Thank You. :(

Sponsored Links
Does the machine have a spin only option, cool tumble or similar, this would eliminate the heating element if the dryer works without tripping the fuse board.

Thank you for reading our post, we do not think it has those functions but we are grateful for your very fast reply.

You have a '15 min cool air' function.

Do you empty the water container or is it connected to a sink or the waste via a pipe.

Presumably it has been in the same position since having it i.e using the same socket, you could eliminate a fault on the socket, house wiring and fuse box by plugging in something else that is a high wattage appliance such as a 3kw kettle, heater etc... if it still trips suspect theres a fault with house wiring etc...

Sponsored Links
Thanks again for your reply, it shows how often I use it the other half confirms it does have that 15 minute cycle, she also empties the water. We have plugged a kettle into the socket we use for the dryer and the electricity did no go off. :confused: Many Thanks.

I think that was, did not trip electrics with kettle so sounds like house electrics are ok.

Try the 15 min no heat programme.