Mira Advance Flex 8.7KW v 9.8KW

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Looking to put in an electric shower for my parents who are in their 80s, and the Mira Advance Flex looks a good option for us given the friendliness and clarity of the controls for my mum whose sight is going a bit, and she has arthritis in her hands - plus the max temp can be configured on these so it can never be too hot for them.

Both these showers have the same published flow rating of 4L/min but the difference in price is about £60. Just trying to understand given we might be limiting the temperature anyway, whether extra power is worth the extra cash - that's all. Our own is a power shower so I've no recent personal experience of electric ones to go on.

All the cabling is going to be new 10mm2 so that isn't a consideration.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
I’d you’re not gaining anything, seems a waste imo

o I've no recent personal experience of electric ones to go on.
Electric showers are feeble - hence the 4 litres/minute flow rate.

A higher power will mean slightly more flow at any given temperature rise.
The difference between 8.7 and 9.8kW will be insignificant.

Unless you really need an electric shower because of no stored hot water and no combination boiler, don't bother with one.

Electric showers are feeble - hence the 4 litres/minute flow rate.

A higher power will mean slightly more flow at any given temperature rise.
The difference between 8.7 and 9.8kW will be insignificant.

Unless you really need an electric shower because of no stored hot water and no combination boiler, don't bother with one.

Thanks and I agree on the feeble from my perspective too (we're running a 2.0 bar Monsoon pump in our house which is about right for our taste) but the requirement here isn't that sort of shower.