Mono Pitched roof ?!?!?!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
After some advise please, I've got zero experience with building / roofing etc.

January work starts on my external workshop, the building is going to be 24ft x 8ft, my brother in law is doing the block work for me, then I need to get the roof done.

I'm after a mono pitched roof, and I'm a bit unsure how it will be erected and would like something confirming if possible....

Would the block work be higher at one side and then roof structure added, or would the blocks all be stacked at the same height and then the roofer creates the slope with wooden structure ? (if that makes any sense).

Thanks in advance for advise :)

Sponsored Links
It would look better if the blockwork followed the roof line. One block higher at the front, cut the side blocks at an angle.
Frank

Build the front and back up to wall plate heights and bed and strap the plates down.

The brickie will also then build up the side walls to a rough approximation of the rafter height without going above the rafter line

The rafters can then be put on and the side walls are then cut up to the correct line - this will depend on whether you are having a timber barge board up the side (with what is called a gable ladder) or just having a mortar verge and no timber.

I think the OP was concerned about the back wall guys?

My take on it (back wall) would be that your lean-to triangle would sit on the inner block leaf and that you would build up the outer leaf of masonry up to the ridge height. You could extend the rafters over the thickness of masonry so that the roof tiles cover the outer course of masonry and use a mono ridge or....

If it is a single skin structure sheathe the rafter support uprights with ply, batten and use a weather-board finish i.e. shiplap or summat.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
I don't think horizontal joists will be needed with just an 8' width

Thanks for all replies :)