More Garden Stuff

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I'm currently re-training to become an electrician (in a pretty roundabout way) and have done a part p course, so i have a fairly ok understanding of that, but i currently lack experience.

A friend has asked me to 'do' his garden and as i'm trying to learn i thought it would be good to use this and a couple of other projects i have on the go, to get the relevant experience (or start to at least), with a view to getting into NAPIT or NIC eventually so i can self cert.

I'm a consultant engineer at the moment (in telecomms) so i do have fundamental knowledge of electrics etc but like i said, i'm working on the actual experience which is currently lacking (you'll see how much in a minute).

I'm awaiting a Megger 1552 to start my testing (i'll test anything and everything i can to get good at that before any work is done) but in the meantime i could use a bit of help with a few things....

Here's the brief....

He has a requirement for sockets in the greenhouse, a socket by a decking platform in the middle of the garden and a socket in the shed.
He also wants 2 fountains, some pillar lights and wall lights and some small uplighters around the edge.
The post and wall lights need to be dimmable, the rest not, and these all need to be controlled by switches inside the house. Everything must be buried (connections to fountains/lights etc) so no simple 'plugging in to outside sockets'.

Here's my thinking....

6A MCB to 1.5mm SWA to run the lights with the same cable going back to the switches. I'll have to split the circuit somewhere to provide individual control of the 2 sets (perimeter uplighters and pillar/walls) - question to follow about this.

32A RCD to 6mm SWA to the GH, a spur to the first fountain, a spur for the other larger fountain and then into the shed.
50m of cable *should* do it (i'm still only thinking about all this so far - nothing measured or drawn yet).

Here's my questions....