Mounting TV Wall Bracket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've bought a TV wall bracket and when I opened the instructions I found it says it should only be mounted by a professional. It indicates that a "3/16 drill bit, 1/2" masonry bit" is needed. I'm a complete DIY novice with no skills and all I have is a general purpose, £40 drill with a hammer option. It's good enough for drilling into masonry to, say, hang a picture, but I'm not sure if it's adequate for this task. Also, I don't have the required bit, just the normal sized masonry one you'd use for everyday pictures, brackets, etc. I'm not sure what size it is but it's only a fraction of the size of the lag bolts that come with the bracket.

I was wondering should I get a handyman with a proper masonry drill to do this for me, or go and buy the aforementioned bit and try using my own drill to do it ? It's not a stud wall so as far as I'm aware it's brick, though it could also be cinder block as I don't know what that is. The bracket can only be mounted on masonry. If you're interested, the TV bracket is a Levv WB2337TB and I'm mounting a new 32" TV on it. Any advice from someone who knows about this stuff would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Well firstly the bracket instruction state professional install only because the world is full of idiots and ambulance chasing lawyers ready and willing to convince them that their stupidity is someone else's fault.

Second, if you really don't know what you are doing then by all means get a DIY man in. Fitting a wall bracket isn't brain surgery, but if you aren't confident dealing with whatever is lurking beneath the plaster then it'll be the safer course of action.

If you decide to go DIY then the net is full of 'how to' guides both written and videos to give hou an idea. Your drill will be fine for brick or breezeblock. Just get the right size drill bits to match the bolts or plugs you are using.