Move sensor. Extend cable

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I intend to fit ceiling coving and need to lower a sensor from the corner angle. If I am lucky, there will be enough cable slack, but I am not optimistic
From searching this section of forum I think that the following method would enable me to undertake the job without setting off the alarm and without needing to reset it. Could somebody confirm, please, for reassurance as I do doubt my conclusion?

Accenta mini G3
Unknown engineers code.

Ensure alarm is not armed.
Do NOT turn off mains supply and do NOT open panel or remove battery.
Remove sensor from wall.
CUT the CABLE. or disconnect at sensor if accessible (This worries me. --Does not cutting the cable set off the tamper?)
Fit new cable length to sensor.
Solder and join cable, using heat shrink.(or use cable connector)
Alarm is "back to normal"
No need to reset panel

Sponsored Links
Disclaimer - i'm not an alarm engineer, but I have installed a G4...

If the panel is set up such that it requires an engineer code to reset (it can be set up so that a user code will reset, I don't think there's any way of finding out without either requiring a reset or having the engineers code unfortunately), then I don't think you can move the sensor without a reset.

Basically, assuming the tamper wires have been connected, then even moving it you will trigger a tamper alarm, as you would have to take the lid off the sensor to get to the screws holding it to the wall, and it should have a microswitch inside that will break the tamper circuit. Note incidentally that a user code should always stop the tamper alarm, but it might not reset the alarm so it can be set again.

Cutting the cable is a bad idea, as you are likely to blow fuses in the panel (you will temporarily short out various wires). If I were doing it, and had either the engineer code or it was configured to allow a user reset, what I would do is: