My garden office

Discussion in 'In the Garden' started by Mike7898, 11 Aug 2020.

  1. Mike7898

    Mike7898

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am building a garden office at present and have laid a concrete base which will be just smaller than the finished shed size. My question is will I need to raise the shed or can I lay the floor directly on the concrete base?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. big-all

    big-all

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    19,152
    Thanks Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    assuming its within 2m off the boundery keep in mind the need to keep below 2.5m to avoid the need for planning
    if the base will be dry then say slate and dpm or felt under joists would stop moisture transferrance
     
  4. Mike7898

    Mike7898

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep thanks for that I have noted it previously. Just the issue of weather I could put the floor direct on concrete as it’s a raised pad and will be smaller than the actual shed size by an inch or so. By slate do you mean roofing slate?
     
  5. big-all

    big-all

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    19,152
    Thanks Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes anything really a brick a slab is just in case you get water under there iff your struggling to keep the roof down using a slate and felt would mean you could get say 2mm of water and joist will still be dry
    or a part slab say 15mm you would never get wet unless you had a massive hollow exceeding that amount
     
    Last edited: 11 Aug 2020
  6. Mike7898

    Mike7898

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    After colluding with a joiner today he has told me as my concrete pad is raised from ground level I could build my stud walls directly on them and overlap my membrane past the concrete? Will this work?
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. big-all

    big-all

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    19,152
    Thanks Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    do you have a dpm within the concrete if not you may or may not get damp away from the edge also concrete is fairly industrial and can be cold underfoot
     
  9. Mike7898

    Mike7898

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a dpm under the concrete yes. Could I not build my walls directly on the concrete then allow an insulated floor on top of the concrete inside? It’s a 20x10 shed so ideally hoping not to need to lift off the concrete
     
  10. big-all

    big-all

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    19,152
    Thanks Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    properly done you'll be fine as long as any water dropping off the bottom off the wall will only ever hit the base below the base dpm level
     
  11. Mike7898

    Mike7898

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thankyou really appreciate your time
     
  12. big-all

    big-all

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    19,152
    Thanks Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    make sure you plan it with gutter and access to clean out so your timber never ever touches earth or any build up off leaves or detritus can be removed every so often to stop decay
     
  13. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page