My Raised Deck

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hie all Hie all am pretty new to this forum and I intend building a deck. To be honest I was told to build by the other half lol.
As you guys can see the area I need to build the deck on is made up of clay and gets pretty wet,as the drainage is p**s poor.
The decking area will be 3.6mx3.3m and I intend to create a raised deck about 25cm off the ground.
I have bought some BnQ reversible decking 3.6m lengths
I intend to build the frame using 9x 4x4 posts on which I will put 3x 6x2 joists as beams and for the remaining two sides of the rectangle I shall use 4x2 joists.
Across this frame I shall use 4x joists at 400mm intervals and all the joists will be secured using joist hangers.
What do you guys think

Last edited by Mpofu on Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:12 am, edited 2 times in total

Read more: //www.diynot.com/forums/floors-stairs-lofts/another-decking-newbie.37

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert in decking but have started doing one myself for the first time. ( in a house sense rather than commercial ) As an engineer I just don't like the idea of timbers in the ground where they can't dry or be aired.
I might be over the top but I set my deck on concrete blocks levelled with a mortared in slate on top(dpc) in addition I laid my decking on a dpc over the timber frame. It is over the top but the frame has a tough life in the dark all the time damp. Hopefully now it will have little dampness reaching it and as its elevated off the ground the air movement should keep it dry.

I'm no expert in decking but have started doing one myself for the first time. ( in a house sense rather than commercial ) As an engineer I just don't like the idea of timbers in the ground where they can't dry or be aired.