Need idiots instructions for wiring tridonic ballast

Joined
12 Jan 2008
Messages
8,609
Reaction score
960
Location
Essex
Country
United Kingdom
Have you also connected tube A and fitted both lamps, the unit wont work unless both A and B are wired and fitted
 
Joined
5 Jun 2012
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Location
West Midlands
Country
United Kingdom
Have you also connected tube A and fitted both lamps, the unit wont work unless both A and B are wired and fitted

yes I connected and wired both A&B tubes. I wondered whether wiring the greens to each other was the right thing to do? Do you think I could do a connectivity test on the ballast by touching Ballast 3or4 with one of the 6 Ballast points on the other end via the multi meter? Is it normal practice?

just want to make sure I've got all the angles covered so that I don't blow the next Ballast I'm about to buy.
 
Joined
12 Jan 2008
Messages
8,609
Reaction score
960
Location
Essex
Country
United Kingdom
I feel the two greens are just in your case coloured wire to the pins, not to be confused with earth, and you would be correct to just join the two as per diagram,provided none of the other three cores are linked across, your previous shorting to earth may as you say damaged the old ballast i dont know.

Without comparing to a good ballast its unlikely you can obtain the readings to expect to test.

One test you could try is on the lamps
continunity test between pins 1+2 and 3+4 note the readings
Plug lamp in and repeat from the coloured wired ends, this will confirm your lamps are good and also you have the correct pairs.

Just reread your first post and you say it went with a Bang so yes its likely the ballasts gone, with NO power to the unit, looking at the rear corner of the ballast can you see a black blow mark from the vent slot, thats where the Pcb earths to the casing on tridonic units, alternatively the back casing clips off and you will see any damage.
If you can its usually irrepairable
 
Joined
5 Jun 2012
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Location
West Midlands
Country
United Kingdom
I feel the two greens are just in your case coloured wire to the pins, not to be confused with earth, and you would be correct to just join the two as per diagram,provided none of the other three cores are linked across, your previous shorting to earth may as you say damaged the old ballast i dont know.

Without comparing to a good ballast its unlikely you can obtain the readings to expect to test.

One test you could try is on the lamps
continunity test between pins 1+2 and 3+4 note the readings
Plug lamp in and repeat from the coloured wired ends, this will confirm your lamps are good and also you have the correct pairs.

Just reread your first post and you say it went with a Bang so yes its likely the ballasts gone, with NO power to the unit, looking at the rear corner of the ballast can you see a black blow mark from the vent slot, thats where the Pcb earths to the casing on tridonic units, alternatively the back casing clips off and you will see any damage.
If you can its usually irrepairable

just looked and there's no blow mark, but before I open it up, just thought I'd let you know that I connected the black lead of my multi meter on Ballast 3 and the red lead on Ballast 14 and hey presto! I got a reading, but unfortunately there was no reading from Ballast points 11,10,9 (especially on 10, which I assume was the live for Tube B). Is this normal? I'm definitely not suppose to double wire the tubes so that the both get a live feed from Ballast 14? Or am I being too adventurous here? #justwondering

Read more: http://www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=2705194#2705194#ixzz2NNCjY04I
 
Joined
12 Jan 2008
Messages
8,609
Reaction score
960
Location
Essex
Country
United Kingdom
I'm definitely not suppose to double wire the tubes so that the both get a live feed from Ballast 14? Or am I being too adventurous here? #justwondering
I would presume the unit would detect nothing connected to the other terminals and shut down

From the tridonic website

15. Can a single lamp be operated on a 2-lamp ECG? No.
All dimmable and non-dimmable electronic ballasts always shut down all lamps if a lamp is not working correctly or is not connected.
 
Joined
5 Jun 2012
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Location
West Midlands
Country
United Kingdom
I'm definitely not suppose to double wire the tubes so that the both get a live feed from Ballast 14? Or am I being too adventurous here? #justwondering
I would presume the unit would detect nothing connected to the other terminals and shut down

From the tridonic website

15. Can a single lamp be operated on a 2-lamp ECG? No.
All dimmable and non-dimmable electronic ballasts always shut down all lamps if a lamp is not working correctly or is not connected.

thanks. I'll buy a new ballast in a month or so and give it another go
 
Joined
27 Aug 2003
Messages
69,757
Reaction score
2,884
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
15. Can a single lamp be operated on a 2-lamp ECG? No.
All dimmable and non-dimmable electronic ballasts always shut down all lamps if a lamp is not working correctly or is not connected.
Which is a bit of a b****r if one lamp fails, both go out, and you want to replace the failed one....
 
Top