1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New cooker keeps tripping

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by Richskirich, 15 Jun 2020.

  1. Richskirich

    Richskirich

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    We have a new cooker. Upon wiring it in the the RCD trips rated at 80A but the MCB doesn't rated at 40A. The cooker draws 8.5kW. it trips as soon as the double pole switch is made. The manual says use 2.5mm² which I am but my maths it should be bigger. Anyway, I feel like it is a fault with the cooker. Probably shouldn't have, but when I disconnected the earth at the cooker the came on. Surely a cooker wouldn't be drawing much current when nothing is actually turned on, on it. Any advise or ideas? 230V as in the UK.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sircerebus666

    sircerebus666

    Joined:
    31 Oct 2019
    Messages:
    1,254
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have an earth fault which is why the RCD trips but the MCB doesn't

    Are you utterly sure you have wired it in correctly ?

    Some pics of the wiring at the cooker and at the connection plate would be useful

    8.5kw is too much for 2.5mm cable , 4mm is better I wonder if they took diversity into account?

    Can you show us a pic of where it says that in the manual?
     
  4. sircerebus666

    sircerebus666

    Joined:
    31 Oct 2019
    Messages:
    1,254
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just noticed you have it connected to a 40a MCB you need to go up to 6mm cable
     
  5. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    66,195
    Thanks Received:
    3,589
    Location:
    Coastal
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    is there a word missing?

    I think you've wired it wrong.

    photograph the connections in the switch, the outlet, and the cooker please/
     
  6. Richskirich

    Richskirich

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately it's unwired at the moment for the night.

    I thought it would be 6 but the manual said 2.5. I'm attaching a picture.

    Sorry, I meant to write that when I disconnected the earth..ie live and neutral still connected, the cooker turned on when I made the switch. 15922515783803475280212458458522.jpg
     
  7. Richskirich

    Richskirich

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would the wrong size cable make it trip even if it is only drawing current for the LCD screen?
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. sircerebus666

    sircerebus666

    Joined:
    31 Oct 2019
    Messages:
    1,254
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That manual says 4300w which 2.5mm would be suitable for, however you would need to change the mcb
     
  10. sircerebus666

    sircerebus666

    Joined:
    31 Oct 2019
    Messages:
    1,254
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No but incorrect wiring would
     
  11. Richskirich

    Richskirich

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So it's not tripping because of the incorrect wire size or MCB? Although the MCB is too highly rated.

    So it is possible that the cooker has an earth and it isn't my wiring?
     
  12. sircerebus666

    sircerebus666

    Joined:
    31 Oct 2019
    Messages:
    1,254
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, incorrect wiring or a faulty oven would cause the RCD to trip

    So yes it could be the oven but without pics of your wiring we won't know for sure

    Do you own a multimeter ?

    What's the ovens make and model ?
     
  13. sircerebus666

    sircerebus666

    Joined:
    31 Oct 2019
    Messages:
    1,254
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What wattage does your oven actually draw, is it 4300w as the manual says or 8.5kw as you say? What does the rating plate say?
     
Loading...

Share This Page