New Extension - Move Manhole?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm at the embryonic stages of getting a new extension. I've had a quote from an architect for £605 to do the drawings for building regs. We are going to obtain a "Certificate of Lawful Development".

One of the major issues for me as a layman is the the fact that there is a manhole cover in the area where the foundations will need to be built. I've spoken to Thames Water, and they tell me it is not theirs, so I'm assuming it's therefore mine, and as such I am within my right to relocate it.

I'm unsure of the law concerning building over it (although some have said this can be done) but I would much prefer to move it.

My questions are:

1. Am I right to assume I own the drain?
2. Do I need building control to sign off the work?
3. Do I need to get a structural engineer involved in the re-siting?
4. How much do you think it might cost?

Sponsored Links
I'm not an expert but your architect should be handling this stuff.

Even if you are just paying him for drawings then he still needs to figure out himself if it needs re-locating or not as that surely needs descrbing in the reg drawings. He should have the skills and resources to make calls like that....IMHO.

I have no confidence in architects..maybe unfair but thats my experiance of the three I've worked with. No concept of customer service and drawing things that can't be built....lovely.

Check everything they tell you and the draft drawings against the knowledge of a good builder, if you can get a friendly one on-side.

Even get the building reg drawings checked if you can. I have seen self certified drawings lead to steel work being condemmed by the council for being completely wrong..how much of a disaster is that??

Sorry to be negative, but I now work to the ABC rule.

Accept nothing
Believe no one
Check everything.

Good luck! S.