New extension tv point's

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by trevorbayliss, 19 Nov 2018.

  1. trevorbayliss

    trevorbayliss

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    1,002
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Our aerial cable comes into the front of the house and comes as far as the room next door to my new extension.

    I think it is easier to just go on the roof and add a new cable coming down the back of the house.

    I intend on putting in 2 Tv points in the new room created, but am not sure how to connect them up.

    Would you run a new cable for each point to the aerial or just run one cable and then spur off the first point and run to the 2nd point ?

    If you do spur off what do i use to connect the two cables up ? This will all be under the floor so hidden.
     
  2. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,809
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's possible either way. However, the conventional way is to wire-up to each socket; that way they can be used independently.

    It is possible to spur, but it does have a couple of drawbacks. The first is that it looks ugly. The first socket in the chain needs an external loop. That means that the wall plate has two aerial connections and then a small piece of aerial cable with plugs on to join the two to make a continuitity link. It'll just look odd.

    Second, there are the practical considerations. When you remove the link to make use of the first socket, the second in the chain goes dead because the connection is broken. You can get round this with a Y splitter, but you've then got to ensure that the signal strength and quality is good enough to stand up to a passive split, but not too strong that with a single TV only that it swamps the tuner. What a P.I.T.A. just to save wiring to both sockets independently.


    Your better option is to either add a powered splitter at the aerial mast or somewhere close; in the loft. Feed the two cables down to the new sockets.

    While you're planning to be up at the aerial mast, do a little research to find out if your current aerial is still the best choice for reception in your area now that we know all the TV channels will be migrating to lower parts of the channel band.


    If this or any other reply was helpful to you, on each one please press the THANKS button which appears when you hover the mouse pointer near the Quote Multi quote buttons.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. trevorbayliss

    trevorbayliss

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    1,002
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The aerial was put in new by some guys in 2012 i think. I have two cables coming from the aerial. One to the front of the house and one to the rear.

    Now that i really think about it i am wondering if i can tap into the rear aerial cable.

    The front cable comes into the front room and is plugged into a booster adapter i think. This allows a few points to be run off from here, but we only have the front room tv running off it and another tv outlet run to the room next door, but we never use that tv point.

    So what i could do is replicate the same thing, but for the rear aerial feed.

    The feed comes off the roof into the rear bedroom. So i would fit a powered splitter and plug it in the wall in this bedroom. I would then run two new cables from here into the new extension. Only one tV point would be used, but i am putting in two as we are not sure which wall will have the Tv yet.

    My only issue i think is that the splitter will have to be moved to the plug and out of the way in the corner of this room. So this means i will have to joint the Tv feed going from here and upstairs to the TV point there. I don't think this is so bad really.

    My alternative is to get on the roof and connect straight into the aerial where they must have a splitter already i assume.
     
  5. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,322
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Aerials only have one connection point. You should not connect 2 cables to it.

    Try a passive splitter on the rear aerial feed. Powered splitters are frequently used unnecessarily.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. trevorbayliss

    trevorbayliss

    Joined:
    9 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    1,002
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes i am going to tee into the aerial feed off the back. Got the two new links in today.

    Ok i will try a basic splitter and see how it works out.
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page