New kitchen

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi all
A newbie here and a pretty much virgin to the world of diy.

We moved into the property about 10 years ago and now are in the process of having a new kitchen installed next month.

I started moving all the base units myself 1 by 1 so i could do any repairing needed on the wall as I suspected there may be one or two mice holes, everything was normal i blocked couple of holes with mortar i also put steel wool before blocking them off, untill i got the wall behind the sink. Whole plastering was damp/soaking with water passing through the the gap between worktop and the wall, so no surprise there i thought i just get the whole plastering off and put new plastering, now when i got the plater board off i could see there is a half a brick/ concrete block missing. Wall is only about 15 years old and there's no crumbling, first I thought it could be just bad workmanship, i thiught i would just put a brick in there myself, than on closer inspection i could see that the brick was originally there but than some part of it was broken and taken out, i would say around one third was missing, i put my hand in the cavity on one side there in insulation on the other side there's none. No insulation either below foundation level and my surprise the insulation, when i put my hand up are all wet.
Now this has left with a couple of mysteries:
A) why the wet insulation?
Probable cause water from sink penetrating through mortar on the inside wall???
B) why would some one took half a brick out of the wall?

Should i just carry on with my repair work, put a bit of insulation and repair the wall or get some one to see why it is the way it is?
Many thanks

Attachments

• IMG_1453.JPG
    IMG_1453.JPG
    165.8 KB · Views: 229
Sponsored Links