New patio on sharp sand and dot & dab

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, About to lay first patio - 20 B&Q large (600x600x35) textured paving slabs, so roughly 3m x 2.4m - with limited traffic as we'll just put low chairs and a garden coffee table on it.
I appear to have dug v deep as I ended up putting in 70 large bags (c25kg each) of sub-base, twice more than B&Q suggested and originally delivered. I've hired a wacker twice, it's super solid and now don't want to undo that with a poor bed.
As many people who've advised me to use a mortar bed, have told me to go for dot & dab given the large size of slabs and fact that I'm a novice. The older guy at B&Q, who argued with his pal (!) said I'd struggle, pulling the slabs up and down, to get them level on a pre-levelled mortar bed. He recommended 2in sharp sand bed, then compacted, then 5 "low" dot & dab at 1:3 ratio.
My only concern is it will take me 3in of only sharp sand (1st row laid as pictured below), rather than his recommended 2in, to get to a level which will see the top of the slabs above the lawn. That presumes most though not all the height of the dot & dab will bed in below the surface of the sharp sand. Will this be ok, given the solid hardcore base, if the sharp sand is compacted enough and I add two gravel boards at the front and right, to fully enclose the patio?
Many thanks,
RF

Sponsored Links
Honestly your going about this a bit all over the place. If you dug out too deep then just bite the bullet and add more hardcore, and yes that means compacting it again unfortunately.

Trying to correct your mistake by using a very deep bedding will be more work as you will need to mix much more mortar and the cost of extra cement etc. It also will affect the long yet stability of your paving.