new plunge router

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello.
Though by profession i was a decorator i am taking up carpentry as a hobby. I was bought a plunge router for xmas with a good selection of bits and two collets (1/4" and 8mm). The 1/4" collet is installed. Now i put in the dovetail bit and the instructions say to drop the bit in as far as it will go. If i do this the bit doesn't reach the wood even if I adjust the depth to minimum, so I pull out the bit to the point where the bare metal shaft of the bit is just visible and it shaves only mm of the wood. This is no good for dovetail and if i pull the bit any further out, I'm worried that the accuracy of the depth gauge will be compromised and that the bit's shaft may snap. Can anyone give me some advice on what to do?

Thank you.

Sponsored Links
oilman said:
Which router? Which bit? Then again, here might help.

It's the blackspur 900 watt plunge router and all the bits seem too short, rather I have to set the depth to maximum so it clears the router housing. I though perhaps the collet was in upside down but nope. Mind you there are two bits that look like squares with springs on the back. I haven't the foggiest where they go but they was in the same bag as the collets.

However i shall keep checking on this forum and post on the router one you showed me too.

i suspect your turret[the thing with three threaded rods on it] and plunge mechanism are stopping the the full plunge the collet nut should sould be with in a mm or two of the base plate !!!
may just be the turret needing to be turned one sixth to clear the machine body ;)

please read you instructions before useing the machine :D ;)

you should leave 1/3 the shaft out of the collet

Sponsored Links
big-all said:
i suspect your turret[the thing with three threaded rods on it] and plunge mechanism are stopping the the full plunge the collet nut should sould be with in a mm or two of the base plate !!!