New radial circuits for a washing machine and a dishwasher, 1.5mm flex and 32A RCBO

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm planning to completely renovate my kitchen and thinking of connecting a dishwasher and a washing machine on 2 separate circuits.
I'm not an electrician but I want to run the cables and get them ready for connection later.
Now, I've got 1.5mm flex and 2x 32A RCBOs I can use but I don't know if this combination is suitable so I need an advice.
  1. Is a 1.5mm flex suitable for both appliances? No other devices will be connected to these circuits.
  2. Are the 32A RCBOs suitable or shall I replace them with smaller units, such as 16A?
Many thanks

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
No. For a radial circuit you should use either:

2.5mm cable on a 20A circuit breaker
or
4mm cable on a 30A circuit breaker (this would comfortably accommodate both appliances on the same circuit, on separate single 13A sockets)

1.5mm flex has no place in permanent wiring.

Hi,
I'm planning to completely renovate my kitchen and thinking of connecting a dishwasher and a washing machine on 2 separate circuits.
That is an excellent idea, I did the same for my kitchen.

I'm not an electrician but I want to run the cables and get them ready for connection later.
Now, I've got 1.5mm flex and 2x 32A RCBOs I can use but I don't know if this combination is suitable so I need an advice.
  1. Is a 1.5mm flex suitable for both appliances? No other devices will be connected to these circuits.
  2. Are the 32A RCBOs suitable or shall I replace them with smaller units, such as 16A?
Many thanks
Your proposals clearly support your statement that you are not an electrician.
You have the wrong cable size, the wrong RCBO size - it might also be argued you have the wrong cable type.
You are also wrong in the fact that you want to run the cables now for connection later.
The bottom line is that creating a new circuit requires Local Authority Building Control consent before you start work.