New Shower old wylex consumer unit question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi noob here;)

Old shower (9.5kW) is kaput:( Have bought new shower, same - 9.5kW. Have been told I need a new consumer unit, (old one is cream 6 way cartridge fuse version with 60A label by switch) and subsequent testing etc. I am presently unable to afford this but am saving to do it next year. (Been quoted £400 min!)

The old shower, has the correct 10mm cable, isolator switch etc and another chap said he would just swap my old shower for the new one but he say a 40A cartridge fuse should replace the current 30A one. Is this OK, will the unit be able to take a 40A fuse??

thanks in anticipation....:)

(Currently have 1x5A for lights 1x30A for downst plugs, 1x30A for upstairs plugs and 1 30A for old shower, that is all)

Sponsored Links
Unlikely you will find a 40A fuse for the Wylex unit. 9.5kW = 41.3A and if you look at the charts it will take around 2000 seconds before it will rupture at that current. So around 1/2 an hour. Most people do not shower for 1/2 an hour so likely it will not rupture in spite of overload. So as far as will it work then the answer is likely it will. Is it safe wall as far as fuse goes yes the fuse will fail before cable over heats so it will fail safe.

However the real question has to be what RCD if any is fitted? RCD's have been required for a in bathroom shower for many years. Some countries will not allow one to have the shower inside the cubical and clearly when it is outside the cubical then the dangers of power tracking due to water ingress are much reduced. But we tend to mount the shower unit in an area where it will get wet. We of course hope water will not get in. But from time to time it does happen. Some using a RCD which will trip at 30ma in 40ms is required in the UK.