New to electrics 5500w 25Amp

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi all

Im very new to electrics and im wanting to get updated with my knowledge so to cut a long story short, here goes..

I rencently got given a Miele washing machine which was used in a commercial building, and i want to install this machine in my kitchen at home, but have been told by the person who gave it to me it works on a different power system.

so i checked the data sheet on the washing machine and it states as below
~230v 50Hz
5500W
25 Amp

the machine currently has the power lead but with no plug or anything on the end.

so is there anybody that could tell me what i need to do to be able to get this machine working easily

many thanks

Sponsored Links
i'd say wire it like a cooker cuircuit

ie

32A breaker in CU
6mm T&E
cooker control unit in accessible location
6mm T&E
cooker outlet plate
existing flex to washer

remember to label the cooker control unit with what its actually connected to

Sponsored Links
thanks plugwash for the speedy reply,

im with you most of the way
T&E i assume is the twin and earth cabling,
cooker control unit im with you on that one.

but im stuck on 32A breaker in CU what is that

also can i use this as a spur or would it need to be on the ring

thanx

im nearly there now thanx again guys

its not a spur or a ring, its a separate radial circuit

the breaker is the circuit breaker in the consumer unit (fuse box)

To clarify all this, you need a new (or currently unused) 30 amp fuse or 32 amp breaker in the consumer unit, a 6mm cable that goes to nothing except the cooker control unit, the control unit itself (with or without extra socket) and, finally, a cooker outlet box. That last item is just a heavy duty junction box where you connect your machine.

An afterthought: What wires do you have in that machine cable? If they're red/yellow/blue it's three phase and you've had it!