New to this. 1st floor rads warm grn rads cold

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, im new to the deligts of owning a house with a 25 year old BAXI BERMUDIA 675. It works a treat only I decided to change all the lock sheild valves on all 7 rads as the were all painted and old.

I have fitted Thermostatic valves to all 3 bedrooms and LS valves to all the other 4, 1 being the bathroom and the rest on the gnd floor. Now system is filled back up I think I have an air lock as all 3 rads on grn floor are cold . I have a fortip tank and pump (set on 3) in the front bedroom and the baxi in the room below.

Can I attach the kitchem sink tap via a hose to the central heating system drain off valve and blast water back through the system to get rid of the air?

All the rads have been bled and no air comes out!!! PLEASE HELP as YOU ARE MY ONLY HOPE :eek:

Sponsored Links
Can I attach the kitchen sink tap via a hose to the central heating system drain off valve and blast water back through the system to get rid of the air?
No, that technique really only applies to air locks in Hot Water pipes.

Try closing the valves on the rads that are working and then seeing if you get any circulation on lower rads. Problem could be sludge that you've disturbed during drain down. This may need flushing out, possibly using a technique like the one I said "No" to above (but it's much more complicated).

"BALANCING RADIATORS" in Google.co.uk gives 978 pages, use Google.com and you get 132,000, so this isn't really your only hope. Try some of them.

Sponsored Links
Thaks for getting back so soon. I have tryed turning all the hot rads off and i get slight warmth in the rads that are normally cold. Then all of the rads may decide to turn off altogeather. could this be a faulty pump. It does sound rather clicky... Is ther a simple way of desludging???