newbie help on wired or wireless pirs

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i'm a complete newbie to security systems. so, i need your help. this is for my home which is a semi with side garage and flat roof.

i want to install a "basic" system - door sensors, pirs, glass sensors and alarm. not too bothered about cctv nor monitoring.

tell me, which is better, wired or wireless pirs?
please give me reasons why one is better than the other.

my friend says wireless pirs tend to give false alarms, say if mini-cabs or police pass by (whilst using their radios).

is this true?
but then, why wouldn't wired pirs also be set off by mini-cabs/police radios?

is it the pirs at fault? or "the brain"? ie the radio signal is intercepted by "the brain" and is then triggered?

also, please tell me which system to get. which make & model?

is it hard to wire everything up?
is it overly complicated? or are there easy, 1-2-3, step by step guides?
i'm fairly tech savvy, but really don't want to do anything more than "hooking things up".

i know i've asked a lot. thanks for any help you can give.

Sponsored Links
Wired are generally more reliable and do not have batteries that need changing every few years.

Wireless are easier and quicker as a DIY install, and you can take them with you when you move, for example if you are in rented accomodation. You can buy quite a good wireless DIY system for about £150 and fit it in a couple of hours. Look at Ironmongery Direct. It is not true about minicabs and police radios setting them off. Each sensor sebnds a signal which includes its unique serial number and the panel ignores any signal that does not include a serial number which it has been taught

I think it is very worthwhile having a system that will phone you and other keyholders in the event of an alarm. The Yale Premium HSA 6400 includes this

Professional alarmists do not like DIY systems as you will find out shortly.