newbie needs some help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm new to the DIY spots and I was surprised by many workarounds from some people using their DIY products. I'm actually a student at filmmaking & I really want to go to that field later. But unfortunately, the tools are very expensive (Lens, tripod, monopod steadycam, among others) and since I'm a beginner, I think it will be wiser to go the DIY way for a while, for obvious reason (money mostly). So, for a first, I would like to work on a heavy duty monopod & eventualy a tripod. Some people told me to not go that way and it will look like crap (for the tripod, even if made out of wood) and it that's useless for the amount of work that's worth. But, since I'm just a student with no much money and that $ 300.00 is a very (too) long shot at the moment for a student unemployed till summer and who have other important debts to take care of. So, that's why I would like to do these DIY. It must be possible to do a decent job out of this, I'm sure. So, can anyone help a total newbie with this ?

Thanks to answer

Sponsored Links
for a tripod you need

a triangle of wood
hinges on each side
3 legs attached to hinges
the camera mounting bolted to the top flat face of the tripod
webbing round the legs of the tripod near the bottom

if you want adjustable legs then it's slightly more work.

Hi, thanks for the answer. For the legs, it must be adjustable, but I've figured out something about it anyway. for the triangle, I'm looking for something else than wood for durability reasons. Aluminum or something else would welcome. I'll post other details later, since I'm between classes right now.

Thanks again and see you later.

Craig's List or similar. Buy a s/h tripod.