newbie trying to fix coat hanger to wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi

who thought the world of screws and drilling two simple holes will be so confusing to me!

complete newbie here needing help with fixting something to wall.

bought a wood coat hanger (weighs about 4-5 kg). seller said he will include wall fixings but none included. so i am now in need to find some screws to fix this to a brick wall.

the wood material of coat hanger is about 1 inch thick, so i was thinking of getting 2.5 inch long screws.

i had couple of old screws which are shorter but i inserted them into the holes within hanger and i think i need 8mm screws. i had few questions if someone can help!

on screws:

1) can i buy screws in any smaller amount than 50/100 packs anywhere?
2) will 2.5 inch screw good enough?
3) where can i buy 2.5 inch screw? i had a look on tool station but i couldnt find any 6mm screws which are 2.5 inch long?
4) do i need any particular type of screw? when i search for masonry screw it comes up with very expensive screws? dont think i need any special screws?
4) how about wall plug? what size?

on drilling hole:
1) for a 8 mm screw what size drill bit do i use? 8mm is the screw head dia if i understand it so not sure if i need 5 or 6 mm drill bit?

i have just bought a bosch SDS drill (PBH 2000).

ta

Sponsored Links
If the coat hanger is really 5KG then 1.5" of screw into the wall ain't going to do it.

I'd use 5mm or even 7mm, to be honest. I'd assume the brick is more than 7mm deep!?!

You probably also want to use at least four, and ensure you have brick/concrete rawl plugs.

By the way, your SDS drill will decimate the wall if you're not careful - you don't have a traditional hammer drill, do you? Make sure you set the depth gauge correctly and don't push on the drill - it will cut 7mm in a couple of seconds.