Night light and security light

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Jupiter01, 28 Oct 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,092
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looking to be some advice on an idea that I have. Will probably have further detailed questions.

    My kids have a habit of having some light switched on upstairs when they go to bed. We tend to switch the light on in our spare bedroom which is further away from their bedroom to provide a small amount of light. I prefer this to a lamp in their room as that just keeps them up for ages! Just me or does anyone else have kids like that?!

    Admittedly, we’ve also got used to some light on our landing overnight. The spare room has a led bulb and an led down light which operate on the same switch.

    My landing had 5 downlights and is way too bright to use for this purpose. The are operated from a single switch (2 way) at the top of the landing.

    I am considering a new downlight in the middle of the current landing downlights. This could then have a 1watt bulb and be used instead of the current lights.

    Additionally, I would like to use this light on a scheduled basis and use this schedule when I am away on holiday. Or alternatively have an app where I can switch it on/off as I choose.

    A bit on the current setup: I have done all the wiring myself and understand this. One of my downlights in the landing has the loop (live in and out + switch).

    Also, can I make the current switch a two gang and have a smart and regular switch in there?

    Apologies for the long post but thought I’d provide some context. Would welcome your thoughts on this.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,943
    Thanks Received:
    1,780
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have something similar, it is waiting to be fitted, needs ladders as top of stairs. I want enough light to see to go to bathroom at night, but more light with normal use, at the moment I have a smart bulb so we can switch on/off with phone and adjust output, but not very good as want to be able to use wall switch.

    This DSC_6058.jpg DSC_6059.jpg is the lamp waiting to go up, wife likes the dangle bits that attach, but I have split the lights one inner and four outer and intend to use colour changing inner lamp. To do this I am using a smart relay, DSC_6061.jpg DSC_6062.jpg this means the light switch and phone work like a two way switch, so can turn off with switch and back on with phone, and also set times for auto switch on/off, not decided yet if going to replace the single gang switch with double, or only have wall switch work outer lights.

    It seems our smart bulbs have a default setting, they remember if set to colour changing when switched on/off with light switch, but not dimming setting, or off setting, so switch off at wall then on switching on again full output on even if was switched off on app.

    Smart light switches seem to default off, and smart bulbs default on. So a power cut for few seconds all smart bulbs switch on and all smart switches turn off.

    As to if all makes are the same I don't know?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. SFK

    SFK

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    2,033
    Thanks Received:
    476
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last edited: 28 Oct 2021
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,115
    Thanks Received:
    4,361
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Ah, lovely complexity!

    I have a small table lamp on the top landing with an 8W LED bulb, and a time switch.

    The cost of running it is so low that the timeswitch is hardly worthwhile.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,630
    Thanks Received:
    2,141
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,092
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    would this mean that I could have a regular switch on the wall and the relay manages everything from the loft?
    Also, does the app work from outside the home and does this require any extra kit?
     
  8. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,092
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How would this be switched and scheduled etc?
     
  9. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,943
    Thanks Received:
    1,780
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The relay is actually in the lamp, but near enough the loft, and would be easy to fit a box in loft to hold it. There is a regular switch on the wall, but it switches extra low voltage not the normal low voltage, in my case I need a zigbee hub to connect it to the internet, and I can control the light as long as I have mobile phone coverage.

    With me it started with Lidi, they were selling off some zigbee lamps cheap, what I had not realised was they needed a hub, but it was not that expensive so got one. I think to date just seven devices, one which is a really handy remote control, I use an app called "Smartlife" and it works some items direct and some through zigbee hub and I can't remember which are which.

    I tired to use Smartlife on the PC and it is a pain, it needs Bluestacks emulator running and takes an age to boot, Smartlife is not fast booting up either, which is why I like being able to use wall switches and remote controls as well.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. SFK

    SFK

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    2,033
    Thanks Received:
    476
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They don't. - green led glow all the time.
    It was an accidental benefit (for me).
    Needed an emergency light for the stairs.
    But have found that emergency lights almost always
    have a green led status light that is on all the time and provides a great night light for the stairs.
    For me two birds with on stone).
    Sfk
     
    Last edited: 28 Oct 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  12. scbk

    scbk

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    926
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Location:
    Ross-shire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Plug in lamp, small led bulb, timer socket, job done for £10-£20
     
    • Like Like x 3
  13. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,092
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A thought: I have a socket in my loft. Could I have a ceiling light (low wattage) and then plug this into a socket with a 3amp plug?
    The socket could have one of these smart plugs that I can then schedule and operate via the mobile.

    I can then set a schedule for this to remain on through the evening and overnight hours.
     
  14. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,630
    Thanks Received:
    2,141
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, of course. Or a smart lamp. Eg Philips hue.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,092
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am wondering whether it's worth the effort of having a light switch on the wall, given all the extra work it will require. I could buy a downlight which takes a 1.5W bulb, pop a hole in the ceiling and run a flex into the attic socket which has one of the smart plugs to aid scheduling and remote activation. The likelihood is that it will be needed through the night whether we are in the house or not.

    Something like this unless there is an alternative recommendation:
    TP-Link Tapo Smart Plug Wi-Fi Outlet, Works with Amazon Alexa (Echo and Echo Dot), Google Home, Wireless Smart Socket, Remote Control Timer Switch, Device Sharing, No Hub Required - Tapo P100 (4-Pack) - Amazon.co.uk
     
  16. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,630
    Thanks Received:
    2,141
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don’t need a switch. A smart socket will sort it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    3,092
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would a 1mm 3 core flex with a 5amp fused plug suffice? I don’t have a 3amp in the shed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page