No Bonding to my gas pipe - is it worth adding one ?

It's great working shifts :LOL:
It is a fundamental requirement of the IEE regs that the earthing and bonding should have been checked before any alterations or additions are carried out.
I take it he gave you the electrical installation certificate?

I hear what you are saying.

I also don't know why there are 2 earths from the CU to the MET, however I did used to have 2 x CU's before, a normal one and a seperate one for the economy 7 strorage heaters so the spark probably used both for the new single split load CU.

I work within 'very' strict rules and regs in the Commercial Aircraft maintenance industry. However like all things we do there has to be a certain amount of common sense applied, I've been doing my job for nearly 25 years now, my experience is worth more than any qualifications and authorisations that I posses, luckily I have plenty both though...
I very often have to Certify and over-sign jobs as an inspector that i haven't actually done myself, luckily i totally trust the guys who i work with. They often have to do the same for me...

My existing electrical installation seemed perfectly functional and i could have legally gone on using it for many more years to come. When i decided to get power out to the shed after years of wanting to do it i decided that the house electrics should be looked at more closely too, this is why i got the CU upgraded.