No such thing as white gloss any more?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm relatively new to DIY having bought my first house with my fiancee back last Dec. Until now we've only painted the woodwork in the bedrooms and because the carpets are supposed to be going in in a couple of weeks we're trying to finish the skirting and doors upstairs.

However, we noticed that the white paint (Dulux Satinwood) has gone yellow and now looks as old as the stuff we painted over.

So we bought some Crown water-based satin as that apparently stays white longer but its HORRIBLE. It dries so quick its really uneven. It's like painting with Tippex and leaves smears and lines everywhere. So now we have a mixture of yellow gloss doors and disgusting white skirting.

What do people use nowadays to get a white gloss finish?

We've tried the finest brushes we have and I'm trying a small foam roller but that's not much better and not much good for corners.

Sponsored Links
Johnstones Aqua can give superb results - but it isn't easy to master.

From what I've been reading water based is the only option for internal
white 'gloss' now, but decent brushes are essential so I'm off at
lunchtime to pick up some Purdy brushes.

I noticed where I slapped the paint on thick and fast (just the way my
other half hates me to do it) it was passably smooth so I think this is
the way to do it.

I'll report back tomorrow

Sponsored Links
So, tonight we spent a while trying out our new brushes and technique.

We sanded the skirting first and the paint came off in big flakes, then wiped down with a damp sponge at first then later we keyed it and washed it with sugar soap when we realised the paint was being repelled in places.

Its very quick to put on this paint, but very messy. We added a splash of water to thin it, which help smooth it, but possibly made it drip. We applied it thick but it does come up a lot smoother than when we tried it yesterday.